In this section, the five basic tenets of the religion are presented in a simple yet entertaining way. The presenter will explain these beliefs which are the pillars upon which the house of Islam are built:
"Shahadah" (Testimony of Faith)
Muslims believe that there is no deity but Allah (God) and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah. The tutor will help exhibition visitors understand the centrality of this to the Islamic way.
"Salat" (Prayer)
Islam teaches Muslims to pray five times a day. The prayer involves a series of physical acts of worship and recitation, parts of which will be acted out for the sake of exhibition visitors. This way, non-Muslims will understand how and why Muslims pray as they do.
"Zakat" (Charity)
Muslims are required by their faith to give 2.5% of their total wealth to the poor and needy. Further examples of where "zakat" can be given will be explained in this section.
"Sawm" (Fasting)
Each year, Muslims fast from sunrise to sunset during the month of Ramadhan. This is a holy month for Muslims as this is the month in which the Holy Qur'an was first revealed to the Prophet Muhammad. There is more detailed information about the Prophet Muhammad in the "Faith and History" Section.
"Hajj" (Pilgrimage)
Every Muslim who can afford to do so is expected to make the pilgrimage to Makkah once in their lifetime. The city is the birthplace of the Prophet and the Ka'bah is known as the "House of God." Muslims face towards it when they pray, no matter where they happen to be in the world.
Exhibition visitors will be invited to put on the "ihram" garments: these are the simple white cloths worn by Muslims throughout their pilgrimage to the holy city.